Parent News

Board Approves Two New Principals
Monday, June 3rd, 2013

Board Approves Two New Principals

Lisa Hill, Principal, Pierce Early Childhood School

Lisa Hill, PrincipalAs a graduate of MacArthur High School, Lisa Hill obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education from the University of North Texas. Hill spent five years teaching at Lively Elementary School before spending a year at the Merrywood School in Duncanville. She returned to Irving ISD where she helped open Gilbert Elementary School. While working at Gilbert, Hill was selected as the school, district and Region X Teacher of the Year.

Hill worked at Hyman Elementary School in Duncanville for one year before returning to Irving ISD where she served as an Instructional Specialist for two years at Townsell Elementary School. Following her stint at Townsell, Hill moved to Thomas Haley Elementary School where she served as assistant principal for two years and then served for one year at Britain Elementary School. Hill is currently working toward a doctoral degree in K-12 Educational Leadership at Dallas Baptist University.

Anika Horgan, Principal, de Zavala Middle School

Anika, Horgan, PrincipalBefore officially being name principal, Anika Horgan has served as the Interim Principal at Lorenzo de Zavala Middle School since December of 2012. Horgan has been working for the Irving Independent School District for the past three years. Prior to Irving ISD, Horgan was an academic specialist for two years and a classroom teacher for four years in Dallas ISD. She has five years of experience working for the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services and holds a Bachelor Degree in Sociology and a Masters Degree in Educational Leadership from Lamar University.

< Return to previous page